Art and Experience: Here is a full list of the nominees, with the winners in bold.

Best motion picture of the year

“The Big Short”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”

Original screenplay

“Bridge of Spies” by Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen
“Ex Machina” by Alex Garland
“Inside Out” by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
“Spotlight” by Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy
“Straight Outta Compton” by Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; Story by S. Leigh Savidge & Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff


Adapted screenplay

“The Big Short” by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay
“Brooklyn” by Nick Hornby
“Carol” by Phyllis Nagy
“The Martian” by Drew Goddard
“Room” by Emma Donoghue

Achievement in cinematography

“Carol” — Ed Lachman
“The Hateful Eight” — Robert Richardson
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — John Seale
“The Revenant” — Emmanuel Lubezki
“Sicario” — Roger Deakins

Performance by an actor in a leading role

Bryan Cranston in “Trumbo”
Matt Damon in “The Martian”
Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Revenant”
Michael Fassbender in “Steve Jobs”
Eddie Redmayne in “The Danish Girl”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role

Christian Bale in “The Big Short”
Tom Hardy in “The Revenant”
Mark Ruffalo in “Spotlight”
Mark Rylance in “Bridge of Spies”
Sylvester Stallone in “Creed”

Performance by an actress in a leading role

Cate Blanchett in “Carol”
Brie Larson in “Room”
Jennifer Lawrence in “Joy”
Charlotte Rampling in “45 Years”
Saoirse Ronan in “Brooklyn”

Performance by an actress in a supporting role

Jennifer Jason Leigh in “The Hateful Eight”
Rooney Mara in “Carol”
Rachel McAdams in “Spotlight”
Alicia Vikander in “The Danish Girl”
Kate Winslet in “Steve Jobs”


Best animated feature film of the year

“Anomalisa” — Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson and Rosa Tran
“Boy and the World” — Alê Abreu
“Inside Out” — Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera
“Shaun the Sheep Movie” — Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
“When Marnie Was There” — Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Achievement in costume design

“Carol” — Sandy Powell
“Cinderella” — Sandy Powell
“The Danish Girl” — Paco Delgado
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Jenny Beavan
“The Revenant” — Jacqueline West


Achievement in directing

“The Big Short” — Adam McKay
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — George Miller
“The Revenant” — Alejandro G. Iñárritu
“Room” — Lenny Abrahamson
“Spotlight” — Tom McCarthy

Best documentary feature

“Amy” — Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees
“Cartel Land” — Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
“The Look of Silence” — Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
“What Happened, Miss Simone?” — Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes
“Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom” — Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Best documentary short subject

“Body Team 12” — David Darg and Bryn Mooser
“Chau, beyond the Lines” — Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
“Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah” — Adam Benzine
“A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness” — Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy
“Last Day of Freedom” — Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman

Achievement in film editing

“The Big Short” — Hank Corwin
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Margaret Sixel
“The Revenant” — Stephen Mirrione
“Spotlight” — Tom McArdle
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Best foreign language film of the year

“Embrace of the Serpent” — Colombia
“Mustang” — France
“Son of Saul” — Hungary
“Theeb” — Jordan
“A War” — Denmark

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin
“The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared” — Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
“The Revenant” — Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

“Bridge of Spies” — Thomas Newman
“Carol” — Carter Burwell
“The Hateful Eight” — Ennio Morricone
“Sicario” — Jóhann Jóhannsson
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — John Williams

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)

“Earned It” from “Fifty Shades of Grey”
Music and Lyric by Abel Tesfaye, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephan Moccio
“Manta Ray” from “Racing Extinction”
Music by J. Ralph and Lyric by Antony Hegarty
“Simple Song #3” from “Youth”
Music and Lyric by David Lang
“Til It Happens To You” from “The Hunting Ground”
Music and Lyric by Diane Warren and Lady Gaga
“Writing’s On The Wall” from “Spectre”
Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

Achievement in production design

“Bridge of Spies” Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich
“The Danish Girl” Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Michael Standish
“Mad Max: Fury Road” Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson
“The Martian” Production Design: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Celia Bobak
“The Revenant” Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Hamish Purdy

Best animated short film

“Bear Story” — Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala
“Prologue” — Richard Williams and Imogen Sutton
“Sanjay’s Super Team” — Sanjay Patel and Nicole Grindle
“We Can’t Live without Cosmos” — Konstantin Bronzit
“World of Tomorrow” — Don Hertzfeldt

Best live action short film

“Ave Maria” — Basil Khalil and Eric Dupont
“Day One” — Henry Hughes
“Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut)” — Patrick Vollrath
“Shok” — Jamie Donoughue
“Stutterer” — Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Achievement in sound editing

“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Mark Mangini and David White
“The Martian” — Oliver Tarney
“The Revenant” — Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender
“Sicario” — Alan Robert Murray
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — Matthew Wood and David Acord

Achievement in sound mixing

“Bridge of Spies” — Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo
“The Martian” — Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
“The Revenant” — Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson


Achievement in visual effects

“Ex Machina” — Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett
“Mad Max: Fury Road” — Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams
“The Martian” — Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
“The Revenant” — Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” — Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould