Art and Experience:

Just ahead of its 27th festival, the annual Palm Springs International ShortFest announced its 2021 lineup that will showcase nearly 300 films from June 22 to 28.

“As we collectively move toward this next stage together, we feel a strong sense of gratitude to share the 2021 edition of ShortFest in person,” artistic director Lili Rodriguez said. “At the center of our plans has been a commitment to this great community of storytellers and moviegoers, and we’re excited to make our return to the silver screen a safe and enjoyable one.”

Out of the 5,500 submitted short films, the festival will have 32 world premieres, 13 international premieres, 46 North American premieres and 22 U.S. premieres. All in-theater screenings will take place at the Camelot Theatres at the Palm Springs Cultural Center.


“The entire programming team was blown away by the quality and quantity of amazing films made and submitted during these unprecedented times. We think this program represents the very best work of exciting, bold, and talented filmmakers from all over the world, and we can’t wait to celebrate them by sharing their films in a theater with an in-person audience,” programming co-directors Linton Melita and Sudeep Sharma said.

Riz Ahmed will return to the Palm Springs circuit with “The Long Goodbye,” which he co-wrote with director Aneil Karia. In addition, “El Fantasma” will have its world premiere with Ellar Coltrane (“Boyhood”) in the starring role as Lee Harvey Oswald. Other highly anticipated shorts include Anders T. Andersen in “The Affected”; Pauline Chalamet in “After Dark”; Spencer Grammer in “Beau”; Will Ferrell and William Jackson Harper in “David,” directed by Zack Woods; Himesh Patel in “Enjoy”; “Flex,” directed by Matt Porter; Diana Lin in “Lonely Blue Night”; Maya Moore as the subject in “Make Him Known”; Charles Rogers in “Marvin’s Never Had Coffee”; the voice of Jackie Cruz in “Nuevo Rico” and John Early in “The Recorder.”

Along with the opportunity to qualify for Academy Awards consideration, juried awards recipients will receive awards and cash prizes worth $25,000. Winners will be announced on June 27.

Source: Variety