Art and Experience: The Iranian House of Cinema announced on Monday that it has submitted two feature films, “Astigmatism” and “Orduckly”, (“Ordakli”) and two documentary films, “Iran’s Lady Qods” and “Finding Farideh”, to the 12th edition of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA).

“Astigmatism” directed by Majidreza Mostafavi has been selected for the Feature Film category.

The film is about a man who has returned after a few years of separation from his family and wants to take back his house from his wife, son, daughter-in-law and grandson. His son, who farms leeches in the basement and hopes to get rich by doing that, tries to reconcile his father with his mother to stay at home.

Directed by Behruz Gharibpur “Orduckly” has been picked for the Youth Feature Film competition.

The film tells the story of Ordakli’s father who is a technician at the Tabriz Railway Station. He is forced to move to Tehran to treat his wife who is suffering from a terminal illness. Once in Tehran, he registers his clever son at a renowned school without thinking about the tragic consequences he will be facing.

“Iran’s Lady Qods” is about Khadijeh Saqafi, the wife of Imam Khomeini, the founder of the Islamic Republic. Mostafa Razzaq-Karimi is the director of the documentary.

“Finding Farideh” co-directed by Azadeh Musavi and Kurosh Atai. The film is about Farideh, an Iranian woman who was adopted by a Dutch family during her childhood in a Tehran orphanage. In this film, she wants Iranians to help her find her real parents.

Both of the films have been submitted to the Documentary Feature Film competition.

This year’s APSA nominees for various categories will be selected by an international council, which is chaired by long-time member Hong-Joon Kim from South Korea. Tusi Tamasese from New Zealand, Sherwood Hu from China, Bina Paul from India, Anne Démy-Geroe from Australia, Gulnara Abikeyeva from Kazakhstan and Delphine Garde-Mroueh from France are members of the council.

The APSA is scheduled to announce the nominees in the feature narrative competition during an exclusive event at the Brisbane City Hall on October 17 and winners will be awarded on November 29.

Source: Tehran Times