Art and Experience: The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced Monday the honorees for its annual Special Achievement Awards.

This year’s recipients include director/producer Lee Daniels (“Empire”), animator Floyd Norman (Disney’s “Mulan”), Anthony Hemingway (“Underground”), film critic Mike Phillips and president of Fox Animation Vanessa Morrison. Awards will be handed out Saturday, Jan. 7, 2017, at the California Yacht Club in Marina del Rey, Calif.

“All of our honorees are serious players who are helping to move the industry forward in terms of creating images that are diverse and inclusive,” said Gil Robertson, AAFCA president and co-founder. “They are all cultural visionaries who deserve to be recognized for their roles in advancing projects that have paid off critically and financially and we look forward to celebrating their careers.”

In addition, the organization will host the 8th annual AAFCA Awards on Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2017, at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, Calif. Winners will be announced Monday, Dec. 12.

Established in 2003, the AAFCA is the largest black film critics’ organization in the world, representing television, radio, print, and online critics. Last year’s honorees included CEO of CodeBlack Entertainment Jeff Clanagan, director John Singleton (“Boyz n The Hood”), and athlete LeBron James.
Source: Variety